Greetings from Kristy!


Hi there, I’m a new intern and really excited to work with the Neighborhood School CSA in preparation for their new season! I’m also currently a senior at Global College of Long Island University, majoring in Global Studies. I spent the last few years studying abroad in places like Costa Rica, India, Japan, and Australia, focusing on environmental sustainability and indigenous cultures, with a special interest in food issues. Food is something that ties us all together, and the way we grow, distribute, and eat food has an enormous impact on the health of our bodies and the planet… So how we think of our food seems pretty important to me! I’ve never worked with a CSA before, and I can’t wait to help out and learn what it’s all about!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by marie on February 15, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    best wishes, Kristy. I graduated from Global College in 88. Was in CR (with Emilio) and Jerusalem. I studied organic ag and went on to get a masters in ag education. I’m currently looking for land of my own to farm. Let me know if I can assist at all. Azmrl (at) hotmail

    Reply

  2. Posted by neighborhoodschoolcsa on February 16, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Hi Marie!
    Whoa small world! Emilio was my advisor too! Unfortunately they’ve shut down the Jerusalem center, but I bet that was an incredible experience. Anyway, thanks for offering to help – I’ll let you know if anything comes up. Also if you’re in NYC and interested in joining the CSA, I can definitely add you to our email list. Otherwise, good luck in your search for land! I would love to hear how it goes.
    -Kristy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

