Marjorie’s Eggplant


Greetings CSAers. This week marks the last week of our vegetable pickup. It’s been a lovely season and the variety of vegetables (and fruits for some) has been wonderful. I promise to post one more recipe for you. But for today, I have a submission from fellow CSAer Marjorie who sent along this beautiful photo.

And here, hysterically embellished with real world charm, are the directions:

Marjorie’s Eggplant:

Ingredients
2 eggplants
1 red onion
3 cloves garlic
1 bunch collard greens
1 bunch kale
1 tin anchovies
1 can chickpeas
2 cans diced tomatoes
1 box rotini, ziti or other pasta
red pepper flakes to taste
balsamic vinegar to taste
salt to taste
olive oil

I cut the two eggplants into 1.5-inch-ish chunks, tossed them with a little olive oil and roasted them at 375 for about an hour.

After the eggplants had been roasting for about a half hour, during which I read my email and ignored my children, I chopped a big red onion into 1.5-inch pieces, chopped up 3 cloves of garlic, and removed the tough stems from the collards. Then I tore the collards and kale into little pieces. Then I heated a couple of glugs of olive oil in my biggest pan, then added a tin of anchovies in their liquid (you could skip this if you hate anchovies — i like them when they’re all melted into something, not whole and HAIRY) and added a shake of red pepper flakes and then the onion and sauteed for 5 min. Then I added the garlic and sauteed for another minute. By then the eggplant was soft and roasty, so I dumped it into the big pan, then added a can of chickpeas and 2 cans of diced tomatoes with their juice. I drizzled in some balsamic vinegar and let it all simmer while my children watched Word Girl which is on PBS so GET OFF MY CASE. Meanwhile, I brought a pot of water to a boil and added a big handful of salt and a box of whole-wheat rotini. Then I seasoned the eggplant mixture with salt and pepper.

For the adults, I served the eggplant mixture atop the pasta with some of the cilantro and a little feta crumbled on top. it would have been good to add toasted pine nuts and/or cured olives but I didn’t have any.

For the kids, who scream in horror at eggplant, I fished out the pieces, meaning it was basically pasta in a watery tomato sauce. sigh. They had a side of chickpeas and an apple and then some ghost-shaped marshmallow peeps.

The End.

Leave a Reply

