Hummus! And cucumbers with goat cheese, spicy hummus, greek yogurt and chives


So hummus. It’s ubiquitous. It’s taken over the shelves of your local grocery. It’s high in fiber. Combined with a grain, it’s high in protein. It’s good with raw veggies. It’s good in sandwiches. It plays well with chips. It’s good for parties. It’s comin’ for ya, and you’ll be happy to be won over by it.

I prefer to make my own hummus because I like to adjust levels of ingredients to my own taste, and I find some commercial hummus products to have a chemically taste. It’s ridiculously easy to make. If you have a food processor or stick blender, you’ll have a batch in under five minutes.

I will sometimes include parsley in my hummus. It adds a bit of flavor and is something else to do with that herb when we get it for our pick-up.

The basic hummus recipe consists of:
1 can chickpeas, reserve the liquid
2 cloves garlic
3 TB tahini (mix well before measuring)
4 TB lemon juice (or more to taste)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp cumin (or more to taste)

Mix everything in a food processor or blender. I start with the chickpeas and then add the lemon juice (fresh squeezed adds extra zing), then tahini, then garlic, then spices. You can taste at this point and adjust to personal preferences. If I add parsley to my hummus, it’s at the end. The reserved liquid can be added a little at a time as you blend, as needed to aid smoothness. Don’t add too much or your hummus will come out tasting too watered down.

I find people often assume olive oil is in the recipe. It’s not. But you can pour olive oil on top when you serve the hummus, and it adds a richness to it. You can also garnish with olives or pine nuts.

Now, for my Dinner Party I made cucumbers with goat cheese, spicy hummus, greek yogurt and chives

This recipe calls for a variation on your basic hummus recipe:
1 can chickpeas, reserve the liquid
2 canned chipotle peppers, rinsed, stemmed and seeded* plus 1 tsp adobo sauce (or more to taste)
1 large clove garlic
3 TB tahini (mix well before measuring)
2 TB extra virgin olive oil
4 TB lemon juice (or more to taste)
1 tsp cumin
2 TB reserved chickpea liquid

To make the hors d’œuvre, use a vegetable peeler to peel the cucumber lengthwise at intervals to create a striped pattern. Slice crosswise into rounds and top with a layer of goat cheese, spicy hummus and a small dollop of greek yogurt. Snip chives onto the top, or you can sprinkle with sesame seeds.

*Capsasin is the active component in spicy peppers, and dwells primarily in the seeds. You’ll want to seed your peppers and adjust the flavor with adobe sauce, or this will come out too sharp.

Bon CSAppetit!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Yum! Yum! and Yum! I really appreciate your postings. Did I say Yum!? Cat

    Reply

  2. Posted by neighborhoodschoolcsa on September 6, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    Heee. Thanks Cat! And I appreciate your comment. Let’s me know I’m not just posting to the vacuum of space.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

